Coins from Austria


The currency in Austria is the Euro (symbol: €) and has been ever since January 1st, 2002. One Euro is made up of 100 cents. Austria uses the full range of Euro coins (one, two, five, 10, 20 and 50 cent coins plus the one and two Euro coins) and notes (five, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 Euros).

Between 1925 and 2002, Austria had the Schilling (symbol: ATS) which replaced the Krone largely used in the time of the monarchy. There was a small break between 1938 and 1945 when the German Reichsmark became the official currency (for reasons which are both obvious and unfortunate).

People still use Schilling in conversation, especially the older population. However, the transition to the Euro went relatively smoothly, though it wasn’t helped by an exchange rate of 13.7603 Schillings to 1 Euro. People simply don’t have the right number of fingers for that calculation.